AkzoNobel announces new executive committee

AkzoNobel today announces a new structure for its executive committee. This change is designed to drive operational excellence, increase customer focus, and build further momentum and speed into the organization.

In the new committee, the executive officer (Thierry Vanlancker), chief financial officer (Maëlys Castella), general counsel (Sven Dumoulin) and chief human resources officer (Marten Booisma) will continue. Changes have been made to the chief operating officer (Ruud Joosten, former head of decorative paints) and integrated supply chain leader (David Allen, elevated to the executive committee).  In addition, Werner Fuhrmann will return to AkzoNobel in the role of head of specialty chemicals.

Effective immediately, Ruud Joosten is named chief operating officer (COO). Working closely with CEO Thierry Vanlancker, the COO will lead the performance coatings and decorative paints businesses. He will be responsible for accelerating growth, the execution of the company’s strategy, and the performance to deliver on the agreed targets. In addition, the direct responsibility for the paints & coatings operations – including all manufacturing, supply chain and logistics, site management, health & safety (HSE&S), and procurement will now fall under the responsibility of David Allen.

Thierry Vanlancker, CEO, commented, ‘We aim to build on the successful foundation of operational excellence that AkzoNobel has laid over the past years. With Ruud Joosten stepping up as our new COO and David Allen joining our executive committee in the role of integrated supply chain leader, this new committee will be faster to drive integrated business planning and quick decision making. It will also enable optimal alignment between business needs and operational and supply chain delivery.’